h1

Aaron

December 16, 2010

I was a new gay in 2004. Shortly after coming out, most of my exposure to anything gay came from the Stonewall Democrats. At the time, they were much older and served as good examples of how to be comfortable in one’s own skin.
While volunteering at the Dallas Gay Prom, I met a small group of men roughly my own age who were passing out fliers about their organization and events. I didn’t have many gay friends that were my age and decided to attend Gay Boy Volleyball. I didn’t play volleyball (many would say that I still can’t play volleyball).
When I arrived, I recognized two of the guys I met and one immediately led me to the grill to get a burger while cracking a couple jokes (much like one would at a fraternity rush event). With a plate in hand, I met everyone else there.
Today, I use Aaron’s example with people I don’t recognize at events. I get them a drink or snack and introduce them around. He died this past Sunday and his memorial is happening now. I wish I could be there. Aaron was smart, witty, and loving. He made a great impact on me and he will be missed.

Leave a Reply

