h1

Day of Decision (CA)

August 5, 2010

California got it’s marriage back yesterday!  Great!  Equality Texas called and asked me to speak at a Day of Decision Rally in Dallas.  Less great.  I’m not the biggest fan of rallies since I don’t like crowds.  Fortunately, there weren’t very many people there to push up against me which makes me feel confined and trapped.  It’s this same reason why I don’t like the club and why I prefer to go to a bar on a Monday night.  Unfortunately, there were probably less people because it was 105 degrees (40.5C).  I wish I was kidding.

It’s great that California has marriage.  I am really glad for them; however, I am a married man who isn’t recognized by the state in which I live.  I’m not less of an American citizen.  I’m not less of  a Texan.  I grew up here and I’m going to school here.  I met my husband in Texas, we celebrated our marriage with family and friends in Texas, and we will always be Texans.  While this is a victory for California, there’s a lot more that we need to do.

As compiled by Equality Texas,

TEXAS
• No form of statewide relationship recognition for same-sex couples.
• Allows employers to legally discriminate against LGBT Texans.
• Does not have a safe schools law that explicitly addresses sexual orientation and gender identity.
• Does not permit a same-sex partner to make a medical decision on behalf of his/her incapacitated partner in the absence of an advance directive.
• No clear adoption laws. Courts have used a parent’s sexual orientation to deny, restrict or modify custody and visitation.
• Hate crimes law explicitly includes “sexual preference.” No provision of Texas law explicitly addresses gender identity.

CALIFORNIA
• Allows same-sex domestic partners to register and to receive essentially all of the rights and benefits of married couples under state law.
• Prohibits discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, appearance and behavior in the areas of employment (public and private), housing and public accommodations.
• Protects students from discrimination and hate violence on the basis of gender identity and sexual orientation.
• Allows same-sex domestic partners to make decisions on behalf of an incapacitated partner. Domestic partners and their children are specifically granted hospital visitation rights.
• Permits a same-sex couple to jointly petition to adopt.
• Hate crime law covers sexual orientation and gender identity.

Please help by volunteering, voting for pro-equality politicians, and giving to Equality Texas.

Photo taken from the Resource Center Dallas Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

