h1

Central Market carbs

May 19, 2010

Michael surprised me a few nights ago with supper.  He went to Central Market and bought a kit that provided prepared ingredients and instructions.  It was great!  He also bought a loaf of Parmesan Bread which was INCREDIBLE.  I ran with the idea and used the bread to make a grilled cheese sandwich, using sharp cheddar, raspberry cheddar, chipotle cheddar, and turkey bacon.  I can’t show you a photo because I finished it quickly.  The idea of using cheese bread for a grilled cheese sandwich is beautiful.  I also think that using turkey bacon instead of real bacon is like ordering a fast food combo with a diet cola.  It was great.

When I go through Central Market, I really like to slowly stroll around and look at everything (thankfully, Michael is tolerant of my quirkiness).  When we reached the bread section, Michael showed me where he got to Parmesan bread then showed me WHITE CHOCOLATE APRICOT bread.  I asked for a slice then brought it home.  I love it.  I will toast it and have it with tea in the middle of the afternoon.  I will try to figure out how to cook it.  Grilled cheese?  French toast?  Oooh, bread pudding.  I need suggestions, please.

Helpful hint: If you go to Central Market after 8PM, all breads and bagels from the bakery go on sale.  We got the bread for half the price.

One comment

  1. Ingredients: 2 bd cups Bisquick baking mix be cup cold whole milk 4 tseablpoons cold butter (1/2 stick) bc teaspoon garlic powder 1 heaping cup grated cheddar cheese Bush on Top: 2 tseablpoons butter, melted bc teaspoon dried parsley flakes bd teaspoon garlic powder pinch salt Directions:1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. 2. Combine Bisquick with cold butter in a medium bowl using a pastry cutter or a large fork. You don’t want to mix too thoroughly. There should be small chunks of butter in there that are about the size of peas. Add cheddar cheese, milk, and bc teaspoon garlic. Mix by hand until combined, but don’t over mix. 3. Drop approximately bc-cup portions of the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet using an ice cream scoop. 4. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes or until the tops of the biscuits begin to turn light brown. 5. When you take the biscuits out of the oven, melt 2 tseablpoons butter is a small bowl in your microwave. Stir in bd teaspoon garlic powder and the dried parsley flakes. Use a brush to spread this garlic butter over the tops of all the biscuits. Use up all of the butter. Makes one dozen biscuits.



Leave a Reply

