h1

Oliver

June 3, 2009

My cat passed away.  In human years, he was old enough to drink.  This was an awesome cat.  I know that a lot of people think their pets are particularly great but my cat was particularly awesome.  For the record, yes – I am one of those people who thought his pet is a person.  I treated him this way.  I talked to him.  I can’t sing but I sung to him.  I loved that cat.

In the beginning, I chose a different cat to be mine but from Day One, Oliver the kitten made it obvious that I was his human.  Settled.  Done.  I’ve been through some severely rough times in my life and Oliver was always there.  He always gave love unconditionally and I hope to be that good in my lifetime.

In last night’s moonlight, I buried him in my backyard flower garden in a spot among the purple and yellow irises that is easily seen from the window sill where he often sat to watch the birds or whatever was back there.  I love you, Oliver.  I already miss you.

It's a kitty pool! Get it?

It's a kitty pool! Get it?

Oliver sleeping. Toward the end of his life, he insisted to touch me at all times in whichever room of the house I settled.

Oliver sleeping. Toward the end of his life, he insisted to touch me at all times in whichever room of the house I settled.

6 comments

  1. Oh baby I’m so sorry. I know how much it hurts to loose a beloved pet. My precious dog Shadow died March 16, 2008. Burying her was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. She’s in my backyard too. I planted peppermint on her grave.
    Pets are like children, loved as much and missed as much. Don’t let anyone belittle the sorrow you have for Oliver. It’s real, and it’s painful.
    You’re in my thoughts, and I’m sending you huggs and kisses 🙂


  2. I followed the link from Facebook to your post…So sorry to hear about your Oliver, Paul. ~Charla (Levi’s friend)


  3. Hey Paul, I’m so sorry about Oliver. You hang in there, kiddo. Call me.


  4. Hey Oliver,

    I’m sorry to hear about your Oliver. He looked just like my last cat Diablo. One thing I’m certain of is that Oliver’s life was better for having been loved by you. I’m sure the best parts of him have rubbed off on you. I look forward to getting to know you and him, through you.

    Hugs.


  5. Oh, Paulie…I remember Oliver. He was beautiful. I’m so sad that you lost him…


  6. I’m sorry Paul. Losing asweet companion is just awful. You’re in my thoughts.



Leave a Reply

