h1

Symphony in the Park

June 2, 2009

I love that the Dallas Symphony Orchestra gives community events. More people need to be exposed to classical music, especially since it seems to be such a struggle to have supported funding for the Arts.

List of the DSO’ s community concerts

Tonight, they gave a fun sampling of music of the world (mostly Europe). I find it amusing that I still remember the bowings from when I used to perform. Unfortunately, there’s only a few concerts left. I love me a free concert!

One comment

  1. The DSO community events are great and a lot of fun! When you mentioned the bowings it reminded me of grandmother. She was concert-mistress for the Lincoln Symphony Orchestra for nearly 20 years. She tried (oh HOW she tried) to get me interested in playing but I was far more attracted to Dad’s cornet. However, I always enjoyed her orchestra’s summer outdoor concert series. Thanks for bringing out that memory!



Leave a Reply

