h1

I’m glad NYC didn’t kill me

February 22, 2009

I’m a nervous traveler. I don’t know why. I’ve done so much of it and for some reason, flying freaks me out. Once I’m on the plane, I’m fine but the night before, I don’t sleep. With this particular trip to New York, I felt nervous with the flight that crash landed on the Hudson and the other plane that went down. These past two months haven’t been good for flights but I like to say that it takes three times to establish a pattern.

Going to New York City on Friday, I tried checking in at the little airline ticket machine. It said I couldn’t check my bag since I required forty minutes to do this. I was three minutes too late.

So, I was off that flight. The next flight to NYC was canceled and my luggage was set for the next flight, which was full. I had a seat for the flight after that but I luckily got stand-by on the flight with my bag.  A friend from Houston was even on that flight.

On the Tarmac, we didn’t go anywhere for a while due to maintenance issues. I napped since I barely had any sleep the night before. It turns out that they shifted the luggage from the rear cargo hold to the middle. The captain announced that he “thinks the balance issues would be okay” (think?). THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE REAR CARGO HOLD OF MY AIRPLANE. I sat in the back of the plane and imagined me ripped out of the plane as the pressure blew out the rear. I shrugged off my imagination and slept. There wasn’t anything I could do about it at the time.

I am happy to be alive.

===

Coming back to Dallas, I took the subway part of the way and a bus part of the way. This would only cost $4 as compared to a possible $30 taxi ride. Buses only take a pre-paid Metro card or coins but a lady kindly swiped her card for me.  I gave her the two bucks I would have spent.

In Harlem, I had my earphones on with Rachel Maddow playing on my iPod. Something was happening on the bus next to me. People were getting agitated and shifting around. Two old ladies argued. They started screaming. People standing in the aisle pushed to get away. Less than two feet away, they both stood up. I paused my iPod. One old lady stood up, “Do you want to go at me? Let’s go!” The other lady pushed her and a woman yelled “Mom!” The old lady then grabbed the rails for support and kicked the other old lady in the chest. The woman fell backwards on people and many more joined the shouting. The bus driver was talking to police on a radio or phone from her perch. The fallen woman, swearing, spit at the kicker and hit some of us instead. She dug into her bag, pulling out scissors. “I’ll cut you!” A young woman pulled the kicker/her mother out of the front of the bus and the would-be stabber calmed down. The bus started moving again and the old lady stabber got off at the next stop. I got on the plane without any trouble.  I don’t think I ever thought I would see an old woman kick another in the chest.

n719565569_5837233_9089

Erica, me and Meghan snuggled up in bed

Some thoughts about New York:

  • I got to visit the Stonewall Inn, the site of a major turning point for the gay rights movement. It smelled weird so I didn’t stay. I’m glad I got to see it. I don’t know why I wanted to see it so badly. My friends weren’t so eager but a few ended up going with me since it’s next to the Duplex.
  • There were a lot of good-looking people. Of course there are a lot of people, period.
  • I love me a good, cheap gyro vender.
  • People are rude but I found the gays to be nice. When I lost my coat, a few offered me a drink and tried to say a few kind words.
  • I don’t know how political I would be in New York. Everyone is basically on the same side so there’s a lot of power strugglee. I’m not into that.
  • Food seemed to be extremely expensive.
  • I ♥ NY
One comment

  1. Did you have anti-bacterial gel or wipes with you to take the spit off? If not, I would have let you borrow mine if I was there…



Leave a Reply

