h1

Happy Vietnamese New Year! (Tết)

January 26, 2009

Chúc mừng năm mới!!  “chook moong nam moy?” is the way you would say “Happy New Year!”  For whatever reason, I looooooove New Years.  I love New Year’s Eve and I love Vietnamese New Year.  What’s not to love about a holiday that prohibits you from cleaning and rather than ask “How are you celebrating the new year?” you ask “How are you eating the new year?”  (ăn Tết)  I’m hoping to find bánh chưng if I can find it (square sticky rice cake filled with meat and covered in banana leaves) and I’ll later go to the bar to drink the equivalent of the fruits one eats.  So, I’ll drink something using peach schnapps or grapefruit or banana liquor.  This is my own personal spin on the holiday and I advise no one to follow my example.

Dave feeds the dragon a few dollars

Dave feeds the dragon a few dollars

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

