h1

Pecan pie cheesecake

November 29, 2008

PecanPieCheesecake

Until I was in college I enjoyed a pecan pie cheesecake from Edwards. They changed it to cream cheese which was awful then discontinued it all together. For about a decade I looked for it. This year, I got a new oven and decided to look for a recipe. I found some weird recipes online and came up with my own. Here was my vision in layers from bottom to top: crust, pecan pie filling, cheesecake, pecans. This a weird part of the recipe. The pecan pie filling part is for one pie. The cheesecake part is for two. I like making two pies at a time.

-Two deep dish pie crusts. I’m not happy with my own dough-making abilities yet.

Pecan pie filling:
– 1 cup sugar
– 3 eggs
– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
– 3 tablespoons melted butter
– 1/2 cup light corn syrup (like Karo)
– 3/4 cup pecans

Cheesecake layer:
– 12 ounces softened cream cheese
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
– lemon and orange zest
– 2 eggs
– 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

– Another 1 cup pecans (chopped or halved, it’s your preference – I think pecan halves are prettier)

Prep your pie crusts, smooth away cracks after they’re defrosted. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

I like to have two bowls, one for the pecan pie filling and one for the cheesecake. I would advise you to use the kind of bowl that is makes it easy to pour for the cheesecake.

Pecan Pie Filling
Whisk/beat the three eggs. Add the sugar, vanilla and syrup. Stir to smooth. Add butter. I hold off on the butter until last so I don’t accidentally cook the egg. It’s okay if you have some chunk. Mix in some pecans, stir and pour into a crust. Repeat for the second pie.

Cheesecake Layer
Break the softened cream cheese in the bowl and add the sugar, vanilla and zest. Stir/blend. I use a fork because I don’t have one of those electric mixers. It should look like slightly melted ice cream. Add the eggs (I do one at a time) and blend as much as possible. It’s okay if there are some lumps. Slowly equal amounts onto each of the pies. The cheesecake mixture will spread over the pecan pie filling (different densities) but you can use a fork or spoon to help it spread over the surface.

Use your remaining pecans to top the pies and set the pies on a baking pan. Bake for about one hour. When the cheesecake starts browning turn off the oven and leave the pies out to set. If any of the pie spills onto the pan taste it. It’s like candy. Refridgerate when the pie is cooled.

Optional Modification
Instead of the granulated sugar use half the amount of granulated Splenda. I suspect this would make the cheesecake fluffier. I haven’t tried it but I like fluffy.

To Serve
Use melted caramel and chocolate to make it like turtle candy. I’m happy with a little caramel sauce (heat caramel candy with a little milk, half-n-half or cream in a small sauce pan).

Enjoy!

One comment

  1. I as well have looked for that pie and could not find it. It was my fav. thanks for sharing your recepe



Leave a Reply

