h1

Transgender Day of Remembrance

November 19, 2008

Today, we remember those killed by anti-transgender hatred or prejudice.

We gathered tonight at SMU which was recently rated as one of the worst schools for LGBT people so I’m glad to see the people here are making an effort.

In the wind and cold, thirty people were remembered. One was as recent as six days ago. I represented Saesha Stewart from New York who was knifed to death on February 9 this year. When I finished reading, I blew out the candle I held.

My card read, “My name was Saesha and people first learned about my death through the New York Daily News headline ‘Fooled John Stabbed Bronx Tranny’. Even though my friends and neighbors said I was not a prostitute, the news continued to refer to me in this way. I was murdered by a man just out of prison who held me down and stabbed me over and over again until I stopped trying to keep him from stabbing me. I died before anyone could call for help.”

http://www.rememberingourdead.org

Leave a Reply

